top of page

BoBen Designs Gemstone Guide

Updated: Apr 26, 2021

Gemstones are the hallmark of jewelry design here at BoBen Designs. We take special care in procuring the highest quality precious stones for our customers, which include diamonds, sapphires, rubillites, and amethysts. Our green amethyst ring is a perfect representation of our commitment to beauty and originality. Our amethyst ring is set in an 18k white-gold shank, encircled with diamonds. This ring embodies our standard of craftsmanship in gemstone inspired jewelry.

There are two types of gemstones, precious and semi-precious stones. Precious stones are diamonds, sapphires, rubies, and emeralds. This distinction fluctuates with the changing times and market economy. For instance, in the 19th century when amethyst was discovered in Brazil, it was labeled a precious stone. Since then, it is now up to the jewelers discretion to assign the distinction of precious or semi-precious to a stone. However, as you can see from the inset image, amethyst is a rare and unique stone that will complement any wearer.

These days, stones that are not any of the aforementioned four (diamonds, sapphires, rubies, and emeralds) are considered semi-precious. But, don’t let the title of precious and semi-precious fool you. The use of the terms “precious” and “semi-precious” in a commercial context is, arguably, misleading because it implies that certain gemstones are inherently more valuable than others, which isn’t always true. In some cases, semi-precious stones can be just as valuable as precious stones. It all depends on a variety of factors.

Although there is no official universally accepted system to grade gemstones, most jewelers tend to assign value using their professional judgement. And of course, there can be no price on jewelry that has been gifted or passed down from loved ones. But, if you are curious about where your gemstone ranks. Gemologists have a three-tiered rating system to classify your gem’s grading in terms of their "water". This is a recognized grading of the gem's luster, transparency, or brilliance.

Very transparent gems are considered, “first water,” while “second” or “third water” gems are considered less transparent.

Diamonds are the most sought after precious stone. Mostly because the diamond has become a cultural signifier for love and commitment. Most often, engagement rings, anniversary gifts, and special occasion jewelry are made using diamonds. According to the Gemological Institute of America (GIA), the 10x magnification system was introduced in the 1950s to help grade the clarity of a diamond. This system now uses a mnemonic device called the four C’s that helps jewelers assign value to a particular diamond. Color, cut, clarity, and carats are the four factors used to grade a diamond’s economic value.

But each criteria holds a different weight to the overall value of the stone. For example, the cut of a diamond is the primary way to assign value. A well cut diamond that has been properly polished will disperse the light into a spectrum of rainbow colors, making it worth more money than an improperly cut diamond with opaque clarity that is unable to disperse light into a spectrum.

Our center diamond ring is a solid example of a perfectly cut and polished diamond. The diamond is the centerpiece of this ring, hence the title. And uses diamonds all around the 18K white-gold shank. It takes precision to set this many diamonds, but once it’s done, the ring generates brilliance that can be seen from across a room.

A diamond’s brilliance is billions of years in the making. According to geologists, diamonds are made from 100% carbon and considered one of the strongest materials on Earth. The only thing that can scratch a diamond, is another diamond. Diamonds form deep underground, more than 100 feet below the surface and are only able to be mined because of volcanic eruptions that push it closer to where machines can reach. This means that your diamond hasn’t only been cut and polished, but has also been formed by natural processes that date back more than three billion years.

A rubellite is a rare gemstone that you will see across our line of fine jewelry. The pinkish-red hue of the stone stands out when set in 18K white-gold with diamonds. When assessing the value of a colored gemstone, color is the most important factor. Rubellites can range from deep red to violet.

Our rubellite centered necklace serves as a lovely alternative for any wearer looking to step outside the traditional diamond necklace that is typically gifted. In this design, the focus is the pinkish-red gemstone at the center of a diamond encrusted 18K white-gold charm.

The rubellite is a transparent gemstone from the tourmaline family of stones. Unlike diamonds, that are valued based on their clarity. Rubellites are one of the few stones, where the presence of inclusions is actually a benefit. An inclusion is any material that has been trapped inside of another material, in this case, the rubellite while it was forming. These inclusions make the stone unique, because there are no two alike. Staring into a rubellite with an inclusion can cause a number of little worlds to appear within the stone, because it’s housing another mineral that might be yet to be discovered. Sometimes, a rubellite is confused with a ruby because of their similar color. But, the rubellite is actually the most prized and expensive member of the tourmaline family because of its beauty and rarity. Rubies have a higher density and a richer red undertone, but rubellites are rarer.

Our promise to you comes in the quality of the stones you purchase. We guarantee that our goldsmith has taken the time to select and set your stone in a unique design that will last a lifetime.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page